Call For Demos

For ECML/PKDD 2014 in Nancy, France, we solicit submissions for demos. Submissions must describe working systems and be based on state-of-the-art machine learning and data mining technology. These systems may be innovative prototype implementations or mature systems that use machine learning techniques and knowledge discovery processes in a real setting. We particularly welcome demos that use open-source software and offer innovative services.

Demo submissions will be evaluated on relevance, maturity of the systems to be presented and technical challenges they solve, but also on potential usefulness to a large number of conference attendees.

The accepted papers for demos will be included in the conference proceedings, to be published by Springer Verlag in the “Lecture Notes in Artificial Intelligence” (LNAI) Series. The demos will be presented in a special demonstration session. At least one of the demo submitters must register for the conference, and perform the demo on site.

Submission Guidelines

All aspects of the submission and notification process will be handled online via the CMT conference management toolkit accessible from the conference web. Please choose the right track during the submission. Instructions concerning the submission, camera-ready formatting and copyright transfer for conference papers also hold for demo papers, unless otherwise specified.

A demonstration submission must be up to 4 pages long. It must provide adequate information on the system’s components and the way the system is operated. Figures, screenshots and interactive demonstration plans may be included if necessary. The authors must further provide a URL that points to a preview of the demonstration which can be seen as a companion webpage including more material, a detailed documentation and if possible the tool itself.

Submitters should keep in mind that the description of a demo has inherently different content than a research paper submitted to the main conference. A successful demonstration paper provides satisfactory answers the following questions:

  • What makes the presented piece of software unique and special?
  • What are the innovative aspects or in what way/area does it represent the state of the art?
  • For whom is it most interesting/useful – for an ML/DM researcher, for a graduate or undergraduate student in these areas, for a practitioner?
  • If there are similar/related pieces of software, what are the advantages and disadvantages of the presented one?

The formatting guidelines of Springer Verlag for the LNAI series apply, and the author instructions, style files and copyright form under must be used.
For inquiries concerning submissions please contact the Demo Track Chairs; contact data below.

Important Dates

Demo submission deadline 16 May 2014
Notification of acceptance 15 June 2014
Camera-ready paper due 23 June 2014


In case you have any question, please do not hesitate to contact us. We are looking forward to your proposals.

The ECML/PKDD 2014 Demo Track Chairs: Ricard Gavalda (UPC Barcelona) Ricard_Gavalda
Myra Spiliopoulou (Univ. of Magdeburg)  myra_spiliopoulou

Please send emails to

Demo Track Program Committee

Martin Atzmüller Kassel University, Germany
Bettina Berendt KU Leuven, Belgium
Albert Bifet HUAWEI Noah’s Ark Lab, Hong Kong
Antoine Bordes CNRS
Christian Borgelt European Center for Soft Computing, Spain
Ulf Brefeld TU Darmstadt, Germany
Blaz Fortuna Jozef Stefan Institute, Slovenia
Ricard Gavaldà Technical University of Catalonia, Spain
Jaakko Hollmen Aalto University, Finland
Andreas Hotho University of Würzburg, Germany
Mark Last Ben Gurion University of the Negev, Israël
Vincent Lemaire Orange Technologies, France
Ernestina Menasalvas Technical University of Madrid, SPAIN
Kjetil Norvag Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway
Themis Palpanas Paris Descartes University, France
Mykola Pechenizkiy Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands
Pedro Pereira Rodrigues University of Porto, Portugal
Bernhard Pfahringer University of Waikato, New Zealand
Myra Spiliopoulou University Magdeburg, Germany
Jerzy Stefanowski Poznań University of Technology, Poland
Grigorios Tsoumakas Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece
Alice Zheng GraphLab, WA, USA